Regional Impact


As the world`s oldest custom union, the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) dates back to the 1889 Customs Union Convention. The primary goal was to promote economic development through regional coordination of trade.

The SACU Agreement, 2002 addressed the following three outstanding issues:

  • Joint decision making processes
  • New Revenue Sharing Formula
  • Question of external (outside SACU) trade

Visit the SACU website:


The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community comprising 16 Member States; 

  • Angola, 
  • Botswana, 
  • Comoros, 
  • Democratic Republic of Congo, 
  • Eswatini, 
  • Lesotho, 
  • Madagascar, 
  • Malawi, 
  • Mauritius, 
  • Mozambique, 
  • Namibia, 
  • Seychelles, 
  • South Africa,  
  • Tanzania, 
  • Zambia 
  • and Zimbabwe.

Established in 1992, SADC is committed to Regional Integration and poverty eradication within Southern Africa through economic development and ensuring peace and security.

To visit the SADC website, please go to:

The South African Association of Freight Forwarders